Logging Messages

This section will show how to modify the logging levels by NetworkManager.

NetworkManager supports on the fly changing of the logging levels and allows for a fine control over what is logged.

First check what is the current logging setup, type:

$ nmcli general logging

As a result you will be presented with the information about the current configuration:

LEVEL  DOMAINS                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

It is possible to change the level either globally or for each domain separately. The command to achieve this is:

$ nmcli general logging [level <level> [domain <domain>]]

The <level> is the desired log level. You can choose from the following:

  • ERR: will log only critical errors
  • WARN: will log warnin messages
  • INFO: will log various informational messages
  • DEBUG: enables verbose logging for debugging purposes

<domain> is the category of messages that shall be logged with given severity. WIFI will include only WiFi related messages, IP4 will include only IPv4 related messages and so on..